Data centers and new power in Garfield County, WA

775 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Garfield County, WA — 3 active requests. Typical wait: 5.8 years. 0 projects are built, 24 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Garfield County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Garfield County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Garfield County right now.

775 MW
of new power is waiting to connect
3 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 620,000 homes use.
0 MW
has actually been built
0 projects switched on so far.
5.8 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Still waiting 11%
  • Withdrawn 89%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Garfield County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Wind 87%
  • Solar 13%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

27 requests ever filed
Pending applications
3
of 27 ever filed
Capacity queued
775 MW
requested, not committed
Already built
0 MW
0 projects connected
Built vs decided
0.0%
24 withdrawn
Median wait
5.8 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
343 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by Avista. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built00 MW0.0%
Still waiting3775 MW11.1%
Withdrawn248.2 GW88.9%
Paused0—0.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Wind2675 MW
Solar1100 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
G0624Solar1.2 GWwithdrawn2019-05BPA
G0730Wind1.1 GWwithdrawn2022-02BPA
G0665Wind1.1 GWwithdrawn2020-12BPA
G0824Solar455 MWwithdrawn2022-11BPA
TCS-14Wind375 MWactive2021-01Avista
G0872Wind300 MWwithdrawn2023-06BPA
G0727Wind300 MWwithdrawn2022-02BPA
G0324Wind300 MWwithdrawn2008-04BPA
NextEra Energy ResourcesWind300 MWwithdrawn2002-06BPA
CS23-02Wind300 MWwithdrawn2023-04Avista
CS25-11Wind300 MWactive2025-04Avista
133Solar300 MWwithdrawn2022-05PSE
G0603Solar275 MWwithdrawn2018-10BPA
G0328Wind252 MWwithdrawn2008-05BPA
G0329Wind252 MWwithdrawn2008-05BPA

Big new power users asking to connect

2 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
CREA-Central Ferry100 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Lyons Ferry Substation18 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Garfield County compares

#482 in the US · #10 in WA

Garfield County ranks #482 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #10 of 30 in Washington.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Benton County2010.9 GW
Yakima County146.5 GW
Klickitat County236.2 GW
Douglas County83.6 GW
Grant County123.5 GW
Lincoln County92.0 GW
Lewis County41.6 GW
Spokane County11973 MW

Common questions about power in Garfield County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Garfield County, WA?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Garfield County is 5.8 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 0 projects in Garfield County have reached energization and 24 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Garfield County, WA?

775 MW is currently requested across 3 active interconnection requests, and 0 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Garfield County, WA a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Washington policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Garfield County — Avista — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Garfield County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Garfield County on the map County reports All of Washington