Data centers and new power in Spokane County, WA
973 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Spokane County, WA — 11 active requests. Typical wait: 2.5 years. 1 projects are built, 19 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Is one near your house?
We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Spokane County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.
What is happening with electricity in Spokane County
Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Spokane County right now.
Where every request ever filed here ended up
Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Spokane County.
What kind of power is asking to connect
By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.
All the numbers
31 requests ever filed
Source: interconnection queues published by Avista. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.
Outcome of every request filed here
| Outcome | Projects | Capacity | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built | 1 | 8 MW | 3.2% |
| Still waiting | 11 | 973 MW | 35.5% |
| Withdrawn | 19 | 1.9 GW | 61.3% |
| Paused | 0 | — | 0.0% |
Waiting to connect, by type of power
| Type | Projects | Capacity requested |
|---|---|---|
| Wind | 3 | 520 MW |
| Batteries | 4 | 353 MW |
| Solar | 4 | 100 MW |
Key dates for projects here
no dated windows published
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
The biggest projects on file
top 15 by size
| Project | Type | Capacity | Status | Filed | Queue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| G0993 | Batteries | 300 MW | withdrawn | 2023-11 | BPA |
| CS25-08 | Batteries | 250 MW | active | 2025-04 | Avista |
| G0987 | Wind | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2023-11 | BPA |
| G0988 | Wind | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2023-11 | BPA |
| CS25-15 | Wind | 200 MW | active | 2025-04 | Avista |
| CS25-17 | Wind | 200 MW | active | 2025-04 | Avista |
| 6 | Wind | 150 MW | withdrawn | 2007-09 | Avista |
| CS25-10 | Solar | 150 MW | withdrawn | 2025-04 | Avista |
| 23 | Wind | 121 MW | withdrawn | 2009-10 | Avista |
| 104 | Wind | 120 MW | active | 2020-03 | Avista |
| CS23-03 | Wind | 120 MW | withdrawn | 2023-04 | Avista |
| CS25-01 | Wind | 120 MW | withdrawn | 2025-04 | Avista |
| TCS-11 | Wind | 120 MW | withdrawn | 2020-03 | Avista |
| CS23-01 | Solar | 100 MW | withdrawn | 2023-04 | Avista |
| CS24-04 | Batteries | 100 MW | withdrawn | 2024-04 | Avista |
Big new power users asking to connect
10 on record
Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.
| Request | Capacity | Status | Queue | Stated use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mixed Use Load | 170 MW | withdrawn | BPA | not stated |
| Trentwood 115 kV | 79 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Five Mile 115 kV | 36 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Staley Substation | 18 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Chattaroy Substation | 17 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| New 115 kV Creston Substation | 10 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| L0517 Midway Substation | 9 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| 16th Avenue | 9 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Garden Springs | 0 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Bell-Boundary #1 230 kV | — | active | BPA | not stated |
Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.
How Spokane County compares
#381 in the US · #8 in WA
Spokane County ranks #381 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #8 of 30 in Washington.
| County | Waiting | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Benton County | 20 | 10.9 GW |
| Yakima County | 14 | 6.5 GW |
| Klickitat County | 23 | 6.2 GW |
| Douglas County | 8 | 3.6 GW |
| Grant County | 12 | 3.5 GW |
| Lincoln County | 9 | 2.0 GW |
| Lewis County | 4 | 1.6 GW |
| Adams County | 9 | 920 MW |
Common questions about power in Spokane County
How long does it take to get power for a data center in Spokane County, WA?
The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Spokane County is 2.5 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 1 projects in Spokane County have reached energization and 19 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.
How much capacity is available in Spokane County, WA?
973 MW is currently requested across 11 active interconnection requests, and 8 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.
Is Spokane County, WA a good site for a data center?
This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Washington policy page.
Where does the data on this page come from?
The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Spokane County — Avista — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Go deeper on Spokane County
The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.
Open Spokane County on the map County reports All of Washington