Data centers and new power in Franklin County, WA

459 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Franklin County, WA — 7 active requests. Typical wait: 3.5 years. 0 projects are built, 7 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Franklin County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Franklin County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Franklin County right now.

459 MW
of new power is waiting to connect
7 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 367,000 homes use.
0 MW
has actually been built
0 projects switched on so far.
3.5 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Still waiting 50%
  • Withdrawn 50%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Franklin County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Batteries 51%
  • Solar 49%
  • Hydro 0%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

14 requests ever filed
Pending applications
7
of 14 ever filed
Capacity queued
459 MW
requested, not committed
Already built
0 MW
0 projects connected
Built vs decided
0.0%
7 withdrawn
Median wait
3.5 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
4 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by Avista, BPA. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built00 MW0.0%
Still waiting7459 MW50.0%
Withdrawn7952 MW50.0%
Paused0—0.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Batteries3234 MW
Solar3223 MW
Hydro12 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 14 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
99Solar200 MWactive2019-09Avista
TCS-08Solar200 MWwithdrawn2019-09Avista
C1-36Solar200 MWwithdrawn2021-05PacifiCorp
CS23-12Batteries199 MWactive2023-05Avista
CS24-08Solar199 MWwithdrawn2024-04Avista
C4-013Solar199 MWwithdrawn2024-05PacifiCorp
G0564Solar80 MWwithdrawn2017-05BPA
01 37MW ConnellNatural gas37 MWwithdrawn2001-08BPA
02 37MW Franklin PUD,Franklin RiverviewNatural gas37 MWwithdrawn2001-08BPA
G1099Batteries24 MWactive2026-07BPA
G0689Solar13 MWactive2021-09BPA
G1079Batteries10 MWactive2025-07BPA
G1004Solar10 MWactive2023-11BPA
Esquatzel ProjectHydro2 MWactive2010-11BPA

Big new power users asking to connect

10 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Worden Substation100 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Railroad Avenue Project59 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Auxiliary Load50 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Edison Substation28 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Phillips Substation27 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Vineyard Substation14 MWactiveBPAnot stated
BBEC - Camp Sub11 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Clodfelter Substation11 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Southridge Substation9 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Bellevue Substation7 MWenergizedBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Franklin County compares

#652 in the US · #19 in WA

Franklin County ranks #652 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #19 of 30 in Washington.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Benton County2010.9 GW
Yakima County146.5 GW
Klickitat County236.2 GW
Douglas County83.6 GW
Grant County123.5 GW
Lincoln County92.0 GW
Lewis County41.6 GW
Spokane County11973 MW

Common questions about power in Franklin County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Franklin County, WA?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Franklin County is 3.5 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 0 projects in Franklin County have reached energization and 7 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Franklin County, WA?

459 MW is currently requested across 7 active interconnection requests, and 0 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Franklin County, WA a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Washington policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Franklin County — Avista, BPA — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Franklin County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Franklin County on the map County reports All of Washington