Data centers and new power in Indiana

34.8 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Indiana — 168 requests across 57 counties. That is the 11th largest amount of any state. 108 projects are built, 605 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Indiana

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Indiana right now.

34.8 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
168 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 27.9 million homes use.
22.3 GW
has actually been built
108 projects switched on so far.
605
projects gave up
Withdrawn before being built. Normal nationally.

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 12%
  • Still waiting 19%
  • Withdrawn 68%
  • Paused 1%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Indiana.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Solar 60%
  • Natural gas 20%
  • Solar + battery 8%
  • Wind 7%
  • Batteries 6%
  • Not stated 1%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

892 requests ever filed
Waiting to connect
168
of 892 ever filed
Capacity requested
34.8 GW
asked for, not approved
Already built
22.3 GW
108 switched on
Built vs decided
15.1%
605 withdrawn
Counties involved
57
with five or more requests
Big new power users
none recorded
0 requests

Source: the interconnection queues of every transmission provider operating in Indiana. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Solar11520.7 GW
Natural gas126.8 GW
Solar + battery122.8 GW
Wind122.3 GW
Batteries141.9 GW
Not stated3200 MW

Who runs the waiting list in Indiana

Grid operator or utilityRequestsCapacity pending
MISO46820.8 GW
PJM42014.0 GW
LGE-KU40 MW

Counties in Indiana

57 with power on the waiting list

Every county with at least five requests on file. Open one to check an address, or see the schools near any mapped data center.

CountyWaitingCapacity queuedAlready built
Sullivan County206.4 GW650 MW
Pulaski County103.2 GW0 MW
Vermillion County42.4 GW385 MW
White County132.1 GW1.6 GW
Fountain County41.4 GW200 MW
Blackford County71.3 GW0 MW
St. Joseph County41.2 GW1.6 GW
Greene County61.2 GW150 MW
Knox County7900 MW350 MW
Newton County5875 MW150 MW
LaPorte County5874 MW435 MW
Lake County5850 MW450 MW
Vigo County5754 MW0 MW
Randolph County5725 MW950 MW
Spencer County1700 MW3.0 GW
Gibson County3600 MW430 MW
Jasper County1500 MW150 MW
Starke County3490 MW900 MW
Allen County5400 MW0 MW
Clarke2400 MW0 MW
Miami County2330 MW293 MW
Grant County4324 MW2 MW
Delaware County3312 MW0 MW
Henry County2302 MW252 MW
Elkhart County2300 MW105 MW

Key dates for projects here

1 dated · next closes 2027-09-10 (MISO)
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
MISOMISO DPP-2026 Definitive Planning Phase application deadline
Attachment X of the tariff and BPM-015.
2027-09-10confirmed source
PJMDominion GS-5 (Virginia SCC PUR-2025-00058) - ESAs signed on or after this date carry the 14-year term
From this date the GS-5 large-load tariff carries a 14-year minimum term, alongside the reported 85% of contracted transmission demand minimum and $1…
No date published yetdisputed source
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

Data center campuses recorded in Indiana

3 listed
CampusOperatorReported demand
Anthropic-Amazon New CarlisleAmazon910 MW
Meta JeffersonvilleMeta178 MW
Google Fort WayneGoogle0 MW

Tagged as a data center by our classification, not by the operator’s own statement. Only campuses with coordinates can be mapped.

Live in Indiana?

Check how far the nearest large data center is from your own address. Free, and your address is not stored.

Check my address Open the map All states