Data centers and new power in Washington County, OR

1.3 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Washington County, OR — 5 active requests. Typical wait: 5.1 years. 1 projects are built, 14 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

How far is it from your house?

Meta-QTS Hillsboro 2, run by Meta, is in Washington County and uses about as much electricity as 144,000 homes.

49 public schools are within 5 miles of it, 2 within one mile. Counted from the facility, not from any home. School list: US Department of Education.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Washington County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Washington County right now.

1.3 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
5 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 1 million homes use.
200 MW
has actually been built
1 projects switched on so far.
5.1 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 5%
  • Still waiting 25%
  • Withdrawn 70%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Washington County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Batteries 100%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

20 requests ever filed
Pending applications
5
of 20 ever filed
Capacity queued
1.3 GW
requested, not committed
Already built
200 MW
1 projects connected
Built vs decided
6.7%
14 withdrawn
Median wait
5.1 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
99 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by PGE. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built1200 MW5.0%
Still waiting51.3 GW25.0%
Withdrawn142.9 GW70.0%
Paused0—0.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Batteries51.3 GW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
21-105Batteries800 MWwithdrawn2021-08PGE
21-104Batteries400 MWactive2021-08PGE
23-221Batteries400 MWactive2023-03PGE
23-223Wind400 MWwithdrawn2023-03PGE
20-082Batteries200 MWcompleted2020-05PGE
21-099Batteries200 MWactive2021-05PGE
21-100Batteries200 MWactive2021-05PGE
23-220Wind200 MWwithdrawn2023-03PGE
24-246Batteries200 MWwithdrawn2024-05PGE
24-249Batteries200 MWwithdrawn2024-05PGE
24-254Batteries200 MWwithdrawn2024-05PGE
24-256Batteries200 MWwithdrawn2024-05PGE
G0737Wind150 MWwithdrawn2022-04BPA
16-059Batteries100 MWwithdrawn2016-08PGE
22-108Batteries100 MWwithdrawn2022-02PGE

Big new power users asking to connect

10 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
NW Hillsboro-North Plains Semiconductor Plants Project (Phase 2)1.8 GWactiveBPAnot stated
West Hillsboro Data Center Project (Phase 1)1.4 GWactiveBPAnot stated
Keeler Substation1.0 GWactiveBPAnot stated
Meadowlark Expansion180 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Lake Street Data Center108 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Filbert Substation Meter Set75 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Forest Grove Substation Meter Set75 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Meadowlark36 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Thatcher Substation20 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Forest Grove Substation5 MWactiveBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Washington County compares

#293 in the US · #11 in OR

Washington County ranks #293 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #11 of 31 in Oregon.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Sherman County2611.4 GW
Wasco County188.6 GW
Morrow County226.6 GW
Crook County316.3 GW
Klamath County135.0 GW
Jefferson County214.2 GW
Umatilla County163.5 GW
Gilliam County143.2 GW

Common questions about power in Washington County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Washington County, OR?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Washington County is 5.1 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 1 projects in Washington County have reached energization and 14 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Washington County, OR?

1.3 GW is currently requested across 5 active interconnection requests, and 200 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Washington County, OR a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Washington County — PGE — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Washington County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Washington County on the map County reports All of Oregon