Data centers and new power in Gilliam County, OR

3.2 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Gilliam County, OR — 14 active requests. Typical wait: 19.9 years. 2 projects are built, 37 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Gilliam County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Gilliam County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Gilliam County right now.

3.2 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
14 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 2.5 million homes use.
245 MW
has actually been built
2 projects switched on so far.
19.9 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 4%
  • Still waiting 25%
  • Withdrawn 65%
  • Paused 7%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Gilliam County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Wind 77%
  • Batteries 16%
  • Solar 6%
  • Biomass 0%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

57 requests ever filed
Pending applications
14
of 57 ever filed
Capacity queued
3.2 GW
requested, not committed
Already built
245 MW
2 projects connected
Built vs decided
5.1%
37 withdrawn
Median wait
19.9 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
1.9 GW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by BPA. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built2245 MW3.5%
Still waiting143.2 GW24.6%
Withdrawn378.1 GW64.9%
Paused4—7.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Wind102.5 GW
Batteries1503 MW
Solar1202 MW
Biomass214 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
Shepherds FlatWind750 MWactive2003-09BPA
G0951Batteries650 MWwithdrawn2023-10BPA
G0950Batteries650 MWwithdrawn2023-10BPA
G0949Batteries650 MWwithdrawn2023-10BPA
G0768Wind615 MWactive2022-08BPA
G0939Solar600 MWwithdrawn2023-09BPA
G0941Batteries503 MWactive2023-09BPA
G0633Wind500 MWwithdrawn2019-12BPA
10-037Wind500 MWsuspended2010-08PGE
G0940Solar450 MWwithdrawn2023-09BPA
G0391Wind425 MWwithdrawn2009-11BPA
09-035Wind401 MWsuspended2009-07PGE
G0677Solar400 MWwithdrawn2021-04BPA
G0831Solar350 MWwithdrawn2022-12BPA
G1057Solar300 MWwithdrawn2023-11BPA

Big new power users asking to connect

2 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Project Litespeed242 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Slatt Substation—withdrawnBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Gilliam County compares

#105 in the US · #8 in OR

Gilliam County ranks #105 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #8 of 31 in Oregon.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Sherman County2611.4 GW
Wasco County188.6 GW
Morrow County226.6 GW
Crook County316.3 GW
Klamath County135.0 GW
Jefferson County214.2 GW
Umatilla County163.5 GW
Lake County202.8 GW

Common questions about power in Gilliam County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Gilliam County, OR?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Gilliam County is 19.9 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 2 projects in Gilliam County have reached energization and 37 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Gilliam County, OR?

3.2 GW is currently requested across 14 active interconnection requests, and 245 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Gilliam County, OR a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Gilliam County — BPA — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Gilliam County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Gilliam County on the map County reports All of Oregon