Data centers and new power in Multnomah County, OR

950 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Multnomah County, OR — 6 active requests. Typical wait: 4.2 years. 4 projects are built, 13 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Multnomah County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Multnomah County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Multnomah County right now.

950 MW
of new power is waiting to connect
6 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 760,000 homes use.
800 MW
has actually been built
4 projects switched on so far.
4.2 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 16%
  • Still waiting 24%
  • Withdrawn 52%
  • Paused 8%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Multnomah County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Batteries 100%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

25 requests ever filed
Pending applications
6
of 25 ever filed
Capacity queued
950 MW
requested, not committed
Already built
800 MW
4 projects connected
Built vs decided
23.5%
13 withdrawn
Median wait
4.2 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
1.6 GW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by PGE, PacifiCorp. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built4800 MW16.0%
Still waiting6950 MW24.0%
Withdrawn131.9 GW52.0%
Paused2—8.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Batteries6950 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
1100MW TroutdaleNatural gas1.1 GWwithdrawn2000-08BPA
11-046Natural gas518 MWsuspended2011-08PGE
G0609Batteries400 MWcompleted2018-12BPA
11-045Natural gas213 MWsuspended2011-08PGE
17-066Batteries200 MWcompleted2017-09PGE
17-067Batteries200 MWactive2017-09PGE
19-076Batteries200 MWcompleted2019-05PGE
21-102Batteries200 MWactive2021-05PGE
23-239Batteries200 MWactive2023-12PGE
24-252Batteries200 MWwithdrawn2024-05PGE
C2-207Batteries199 MWwithdrawn2022-05PacifiCorp
22-111Batteries150 MWactive2022-11PGE
22-118Batteries150 MWwithdrawn2022-12PGE
C2-27Batteries100 MWactive2022-04PacifiCorp
C4-079Batteries100 MWwithdrawn2024-05PacifiCorp

Big new power users asking to connect

3 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
B Johnson Substation11 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated
Blue Lake4 MWactiveBPAnot stated
St. Johns Substation0 MWwithdrawnBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Multnomah County compares

#392 in the US · #12 in OR

Multnomah County ranks #392 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #12 of 31 in Oregon.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Sherman County2611.4 GW
Wasco County188.6 GW
Morrow County226.6 GW
Crook County316.3 GW
Klamath County135.0 GW
Jefferson County214.2 GW
Umatilla County163.5 GW
Gilliam County143.2 GW

Common questions about power in Multnomah County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Multnomah County, OR?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Multnomah County is 4.2 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 4 projects in Multnomah County have reached energization and 13 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Multnomah County, OR?

950 MW is currently requested across 6 active interconnection requests, and 800 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Multnomah County, OR a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Multnomah County — PGE, PacifiCorp — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Multnomah County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Multnomah County on the map County reports All of Oregon