Data centers and new power in Marion County, OR

534 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Marion County, OR — 3 active requests. Typical wait: 4.5 years. 5 projects are built, 17 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Marion County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Marion County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Marion County right now.

534 MW
of new power is waiting to connect
3 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 427,000 homes use.
1 MW
has actually been built
5 projects switched on so far.
4.5 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 18%
  • Still waiting 11%
  • Withdrawn 61%
  • Paused 11%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Marion County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Batteries 100%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

28 requests ever filed
Pending applications
3
of 28 ever filed
Capacity queued
534 MW
requested, not committed
Already built
1 MW
5 projects connected
Built vs decided
22.7%
17 withdrawn
Median wait
4.5 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
177 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by PGE, PacifiCorp. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built51 MW17.9%
Still waiting3534 MW10.7%
Withdrawn175.5 GW60.7%
Paused3—10.7%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Batteries3534 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
G0754Solar3.8 GWwithdrawn2022-06BPA
Sempra GenerationNatural gas612 MWwithdrawn2001-10BPA
07-029Natural gas200 MWsuspended2007-10PGE
24-251Batteries200 MWwithdrawn2024-05PGE
24-257Batteries200 MWwithdrawn2024-05PGE
C1-19Solar199 MWwithdrawn2021-05PacifiCorp
C3-187Batteries199 MWactive2023-05PacifiCorp
21-101Batteries185 MWactive2021-05PGE
22-110Batteries150 MWactive2022-04PGE
C2-125Solar100 MWwithdrawn2022-05PacifiCorp
C3-116Batteries100 MWwithdrawn2023-05PacifiCorp
07-028Natural gas100 MWsuspended2007-10PGE
12-052Batteries100 MWsuspended2012-10PGE
16-062Batteries100 MWwithdrawn2016-09PGE
20-084Batteries100 MWwithdrawn2020-05PGE

Big new power users asking to connect

3 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Chemawa-Waconda 115 kV Line Project0 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Conser 115kV0 MWactiveBPAnot stated
Lyons Loop0 MWenergizedBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Marion County compares

#600 in the US · #16 in OR

Marion County ranks #600 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #16 of 31 in Oregon.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Sherman County2611.4 GW
Wasco County188.6 GW
Morrow County226.6 GW
Crook County316.3 GW
Klamath County135.0 GW
Jefferson County214.2 GW
Umatilla County163.5 GW
Gilliam County143.2 GW

Common questions about power in Marion County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Marion County, OR?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Marion County is 4.5 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 5 projects in Marion County have reached energization and 17 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Marion County, OR?

534 MW is currently requested across 3 active interconnection requests, and 1 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Marion County, OR a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Marion County — PGE, PacifiCorp — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Marion County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Marion County on the map County reports All of Oregon