Data centers and new power in Lane County, OR
36 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Lane County, OR — 6 active requests. Typical wait: 15.7 years. 1 projects are built, 25 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Is one near your house?
We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Lane County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.
What is happening with electricity in Lane County
Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Lane County right now.
Where every request ever filed here ended up
Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Lane County.
What kind of power is asking to connect
By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.
All the numbers
32 requests ever filed
Source: interconnection queues published by BPA. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.
Outcome of every request filed here
| Outcome | Projects | Capacity | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built | 1 | 7 MW | 3.1% |
| Still waiting | 6 | 36 MW | 18.8% |
| Withdrawn | 25 | 5.8 GW | 78.1% |
| Paused | 0 | — | 0.0% |
Waiting to connect, by type of power
| Type | Projects | Capacity requested |
|---|---|---|
| Biomass | 2 | 22 MW |
| Natural gas | 1 | 11 MW |
| Solar | 3 | 2 MW |
Key dates for projects here
no dated windows published
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
The biggest projects on file
top 15 by size
| Project | Type | Capacity | Status | Filed | Queue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| G0812 | Batteries | 616 MW | withdrawn | 2022-09 | BPA |
| G0811 | Biomass | 612 MW | withdrawn | 2022-09 | BPA |
| Coburg Power | Natural gas | 570 MW | withdrawn | 2001-04 | BPA |
| G0888 | Solar | 407 MW | withdrawn | 2023-06 | BPA |
| G0890 | Solar | 400 MW | withdrawn | 2023-06 | BPA |
| G0891 | Solar | 400 MW | withdrawn | 2023-06 | BPA |
| G0918 | Wind | 300 MW | withdrawn | 2023-08 | BPA |
| 24 | Natural gas | 300 MW | withdrawn | 2003-06 | PacifiCorp |
| Frontier Technology | Natural gas | 265 MW | withdrawn | 2001-03 | BPA |
| G0889 | Batteries | 204 MW | withdrawn | 2023-06 | BPA |
| G0803 | Batteries | 204 MW | withdrawn | 2022-09 | BPA |
| G1046 | Batteries | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2023-11 | BPA |
| G0810 | Biomass | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2022-09 | BPA |
| G0971 | Biomass | 165 MW | withdrawn | 2023-10 | BPA |
| G0880 | Solar | 163 MW | withdrawn | 2023-06 | BPA |
Big new power users asking to connect
10 on record
Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.
| Request | Capacity | Status | Queue | Stated use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Junction City | 90 MW | withdrawn | BPA | not stated |
| University of Oregon Loads | 19 MW | energized | BPA | not stated |
| Parker Substation | 13 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Saginaw Area | 12 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| EWEB Holden Creek | 10 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| CPI-EPUD Tie | 6 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Parker Substation Additional 4.3 MW | 4 MW | energized | BPA | not stated |
| Junction City Substation | 2 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
| Mapleton | 0 MW | energized | BPA | not stated |
| Latham Substation Reliability Project | 0 MW | active | BPA | not stated |
Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.
How Lane County compares
#1195 in the US · #23 in OR
Lane County ranks #1195 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #23 of 31 in Oregon.
| County | Waiting | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Sherman County | 26 | 11.4 GW |
| Wasco County | 18 | 8.6 GW |
| Morrow County | 22 | 6.6 GW |
| Crook County | 31 | 6.3 GW |
| Klamath County | 13 | 5.0 GW |
| Jefferson County | 21 | 4.2 GW |
| Umatilla County | 16 | 3.5 GW |
| Gilliam County | 14 | 3.2 GW |
Common questions about power in Lane County
How long does it take to get power for a data center in Lane County, OR?
The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Lane County is 15.7 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 1 projects in Lane County have reached energization and 25 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.
How much capacity is available in Lane County, OR?
36 MW is currently requested across 6 active interconnection requests, and 7 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.
Is Lane County, OR a good site for a data center?
This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Oregon policy page.
Where does the data on this page come from?
The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Lane County — BPA — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Go deeper on Lane County
The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.