Data centers and new power in Sullivan County, NY
500 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Sullivan County, NY — 3 active requests. Typical wait: 2.0 years. 2 projects are built, 13 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Is one near your house?
We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Sullivan County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.
What is happening with electricity in Sullivan County
Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Sullivan County right now.
Where every request ever filed here ended up
Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Sullivan County.
What kind of power is asking to connect
By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.
All the numbers
18 requests ever filed
Source: interconnection queues published by NYISO. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.
Outcome of every request filed here
| Outcome | Projects | Capacity | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built | 2 | 1 MW | 11.1% |
| Still waiting | 3 | 500 MW | 16.7% |
| Withdrawn | 13 | 2.8 GW | 72.2% |
| Paused | 0 | — | 0.0% |
Waiting to connect, by type of power
| Type | Projects | Capacity requested |
|---|---|---|
| Batteries | 3 | 500 MW |
Key dates for projects here
no dated windows published
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| NYISO | NYISO cluster request window Class Year deliverability construct plus the new cluster process. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
The biggest projects on file
top 15 by size
| Project | Type | Capacity | Status | Filed | Queue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sullivan County Power Project | Natural gas | 1.1 GW | withdrawn | 1999-06 | NYISO |
| Mifflin | Batteries | 300 MW | withdrawn | 2020-04 | NYISO |
| Coopers Corner BESS | Batteries | 300 MW | withdrawn | 2023-12 | NYISO |
| Coopers Corner Storage Project 1 | Batteries | 250 MW | withdrawn | 2023-03 | NYISO |
| Coopers Corner Storage Project 2 | Batteries | 250 MW | withdrawn | 2023-03 | NYISO |
| Town Line Solar CSR Phase I | Batteries | 240 MW | active | 2024-10 | NYISO |
| Sullivan County Solar & BESS | Batteries | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2023-01 | NYISO |
| Sullivan Storage BESS | Batteries | 200 MW | active | 2026-08 | NYISO |
| Chaumont Solar | Solar | 160 MW | withdrawn | 2018-04 | NYISO |
| East Bridge Energy Storage | Batteries | 125 MW | withdrawn | 2022-09 | NYISO |
| Town Line Solar Phase II | Batteries | 60 MW | active | 2024-09 | NYISO |
| Sullivan County Solar & BESS Uprate | Batteries | 60 MW | withdrawn | 2023-05 | NYISO |
| Whitehart Solar | Solar | 20 MW | withdrawn | 2017-04 | NYISO |
| State Route 52 | Solar | 20 MW | withdrawn | 2022-04 | NYISO |
| Roseway Solar | Solar | 20 MW | withdrawn | 2014-08 | NYISO |
Big new power users asking to connect
1 on record
Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.
| Request | Capacity | Status | Queue | Stated use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Concord Casino | 48 MW | active | NYISO | not stated |
Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.
How Sullivan County compares
#628 in the US · #23 in NY
Sullivan County ranks #628 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #23 of 57 in New York.
| County | Waiting | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Suffolk County | 27 | 3.7 GW |
| Kings County | 8 | 3.1 GW |
| Orange County | 10 | 1.6 GW |
| Ulster County | 11 | 1.3 GW |
| Steuben County | 8 | 1.3 GW |
| Dutchess County | 7 | 1.1 GW |
| Nassau County | 2 | 1.1 GW |
| Genesee County | 4 | 926 MW |
Common questions about power in Sullivan County
How long does it take to get power for a data center in Sullivan County, NY?
The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Sullivan County is 2.0 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 2 projects in Sullivan County have reached energization and 13 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.
How much capacity is available in Sullivan County, NY?
500 MW is currently requested across 3 active interconnection requests, and 1 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.
Is Sullivan County, NY a good site for a data center?
This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our New York policy page.
Where does the data on this page come from?
The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Sullivan County — NYISO — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Go deeper on Sullivan County
The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.
Open Sullivan County on the map County reports All of New York