Data centers and new power in St. Lawrence County, NY
759 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in St. Lawrence County, NY — 5 active requests. Typical wait: 5.4 years. 1 projects are built, 28 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Is one near your house?
We have not mapped a large AI data center inside St. Lawrence County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.
What is happening with electricity in St. Lawrence County
Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in St. Lawrence County right now.
Where every request ever filed here ended up
Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for St. Lawrence County.
What kind of power is asking to connect
By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.
All the numbers
34 requests ever filed
Source: interconnection queues published by NYISO. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.
Outcome of every request filed here
| Outcome | Projects | Capacity | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built | 1 | 0 MW | 2.9% |
| Still waiting | 5 | 759 MW | 14.7% |
| Withdrawn | 28 | 3.8 GW | 82.4% |
| Paused | 0 | — | 0.0% |
Waiting to connect, by type of power
| Type | Projects | Capacity requested |
|---|---|---|
| Solar | 3 | 392 MW |
| Batteries | 2 | 367 MW |
Key dates for projects here
no dated windows published
| Queue | What closes | Closes | Standing |
|---|---|---|---|
| FERC | FERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70… | No date published yet | unconfirmed source |
| FERC | FERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking Still at ANOPR stage. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| FERC | Georgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
| NYISO | NYISO cluster request window Class Year deliverability construct plus the new cluster process. | No date published yet | confirmed source |
A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.
The biggest projects on file
top 15 by size
| Project | Type | Capacity | Status | Filed | Queue |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Riverbank Power D1 | Hydro | 1.0 GW | withdrawn | 2008-02 | NYISO |
| Riverbank Power D2 | Other | 1.0 GW | withdrawn | 2008-02 | NYISO |
| Rich Road Solar Energy Center | Batteries | 240 MW | active | 2019-02 | NYISO |
| Amber Solar and Storage | Batteries | 232 MW | withdrawn | 2021-09 | NYISO |
| NY125B - Two Rivers Solar | Solar | 200 MW | active | 2021-05 | NYISO |
| Riverline Energy Center | Batteries | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2020-06 | NYISO |
| St Lawrence Data and Agricultural Center | Not stated | 200 MW | withdrawn | 2021-06 | NYISO |
| Gateway Solar Energy Center | Solar | 180 MW | active | 2017-03 | NYISO |
| Stone Church Wind | Wind | 150 MW | withdrawn | 2008-09 | NYISO |
| Golden Knight Solar | Solar | 140 MW | withdrawn | 2023-06 | NYISO |
| Tibbits Creek | Batteries | 127 MW | active | 2026-09 | NYISO |
| North Ridge Wind | Wind | 100 MW | withdrawn | 2010-05 | NYISO |
| North Ridge Wind | Wind | 100 MW | withdrawn | 2015-12 | NYISO |
| St. Regis River | Batteries | 85 MW | withdrawn | 2021-09 | NYISO |
| Grass River Solar | Solar | 80 MW | withdrawn | 2022-10 | NYISO |
Big new power users asking to connect
10 on record
Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.
| Request | Capacity | Status | Queue | Stated use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| St. Lawrence Infrastructure 2 | 1.9 GW | active | NYISO | DAT-AI |
| St. Lawrence Infrastructure 1 | 860 MW | active | NYISO | DAT-AI |
| Arsenal Data Site 1000 | 467 MW | active | NYISO | DAT-AI |
| North Country Data Center | 435 MW | active | NYISO | DAT-CM |
| New York State Artificial Intelligence Data Center | 300 MW | active | NYISO | not stated |
| New York State Artificial Intelligence Data Center | 300 MW | active | NYISO | DAT-AI |
| Pontoon Bridge Road Data Center | 250 MW | active | NYISO | DAT |
| Arsenal Data Site 250 | 233 MW | active | NYISO | DAT-AI |
| Arsenal Data Site 500 | 233 MW | active | NYISO | DAT-AI |
| Massena Load | 200 MW | active | NYISO | not stated |
Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.
How St. Lawrence County compares
#487 in the US · #15 in NY
St. Lawrence County ranks #487 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #15 of 57 in New York.
| County | Waiting | Capacity queued |
|---|---|---|
| Suffolk County | 27 | 3.7 GW |
| Kings County | 8 | 3.1 GW |
| Orange County | 10 | 1.6 GW |
| Ulster County | 11 | 1.3 GW |
| Steuben County | 8 | 1.3 GW |
| Dutchess County | 7 | 1.1 GW |
| Nassau County | 2 | 1.1 GW |
| Genesee County | 4 | 926 MW |
Common questions about power in St. Lawrence County
How long does it take to get power for a data center in St. Lawrence County, NY?
The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in St. Lawrence County is 5.4 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 1 projects in St. Lawrence County have reached energization and 28 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.
How much capacity is available in St. Lawrence County, NY?
759 MW is currently requested across 5 active interconnection requests, and 0 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.
Is St. Lawrence County, NY a good site for a data center?
This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our New York policy page.
Where does the data on this page come from?
The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving St. Lawrence County — NYISO — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.
Go deeper on St. Lawrence County
The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.
Open St. Lawrence County on the map County reports All of New York