Data centers and new power in Fremont County, ID

195 MW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Fremont County, ID — 1 active requests. Typical wait: 3.0 years. 1 projects are built, 4 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Fremont County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Fremont County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Fremont County right now.

195 MW
of new power is waiting to connect
1 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 156,000 homes use.
9 MW
has actually been built
1 projects switched on so far.
3.0 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 17%
  • Still waiting 17%
  • Withdrawn 67%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Fremont County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Solar 100%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

6 requests ever filed
Pending applications
1
of 6 ever filed
Capacity queued
195 MW
requested, not committed
Already built
9 MW
1 projects connected
Built vs decided
20.0%
4 withdrawn
Median wait
3.0 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
24 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by BPA. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built19 MW16.7%
Still waiting1195 MW16.7%
Withdrawn4177 MW66.7%
Paused0—0.0%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Solar1195 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 6 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
G0945Solar195 MWactive2023-10BPA
G1033Solar170 MWwithdrawn2023-11BPA
FLRVOther9 MWcompleted—IP
344Hydro4 MWwithdrawn2010-06PacifiCorp
1182Hydro2 MWwithdrawn2019-10PacifiCorp
TCS-49Hydro2 MWwithdrawn2019-10PacifiCorp

Big new power users asking to connect

1 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Drummond-Macks Inn 46 kV to 115 kV Conversion8 MWenergizedBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Fremont County compares

#947 in the US · #13 in ID

Fremont County ranks #947 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #13 of 27 in Idaho.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Elmore County102.5 GW
Ada County112.0 GW
Bingham County81.8 GW
Power County41.6 GW
Owyhee County5993 MW
Canyon County4594 MW
Jerome County2320 MW
Bannock County2301 MW

Common questions about power in Fremont County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Fremont County, ID?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Fremont County is 3.0 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 1 projects in Fremont County have reached energization and 4 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Fremont County, ID?

195 MW is currently requested across 1 active interconnection requests, and 9 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Fremont County, ID a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Idaho policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Fremont County — BPA — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Fremont County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Fremont County on the map County reports All of Idaho