Data centers and new power in Elmore County, ID

2.5 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Elmore County, ID — 10 active requests. Typical wait: 1.5 years. 32 projects are built, 91 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Elmore County itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Elmore County

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Elmore County right now.

2.5 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
10 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 2 million homes use.
1.1 GW
has actually been built
32 projects switched on so far.
1.5 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Built 24%
  • Still waiting 7%
  • Withdrawn 67%
  • Paused 2%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Elmore County.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Natural gas 49%
  • Solar 38%
  • Batteries 13%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

136 requests ever filed
Pending applications
10
of 136 ever filed
Capacity queued
2.5 GW
requested, not committed
Already built
1.1 GW
32 projects connected
Built vs decided
26.0%
91 withdrawn
Median wait
1.5 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
928 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by IP. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built321.1 GW23.5%
Still waiting102.5 GW7.4%
Withdrawn9117.7 GW66.9%
Paused3—2.2%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Natural gas41.2 GW
Solar5949 MW
Batteries1330 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
530Solar870 MWwithdrawn2018-04IP
19Coal800 MWwithdrawn2003-04PacifiCorp
106Coal750 MWwithdrawn2004-04IP
109Coal750 MWwithdrawn2004-06IP
524Solar750 MWwithdrawn2017-08IP
213Natural gas650 MWwithdrawn2007-12IP
217Natural gas650 MWwithdrawn2007-12IP
218Natural gas650 MWwithdrawn2007-12IP
230Natural gas650 MWwithdrawn2007-12IP
238Natural gas650 MWwithdrawn2008-04IP
249Natural gas650 MWwithdrawn2008-04IP
254Natural gas650 MWwithdrawn2008-05IP
G0502Hydro600 MWwithdrawn2014-11BPA
759Natural gas526 MWactive2025-04IP
760Natural gas526 MWactive2025-04IP

Big new power users asking to connect

1 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Elmore County SFBRD27 MWenergizedBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Elmore County compares

#140 in the US · #1 in ID

Elmore County ranks #140 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #1 of 27 in Idaho.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Ada County112.0 GW
Bingham County81.8 GW
Power County41.6 GW
Owyhee County5993 MW
Canyon County4594 MW
Jerome County2320 MW
Bannock County2301 MW
Kootenai County4255 MW

Common questions about power in Elmore County

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Elmore County, ID?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Elmore County is 1.5 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 32 projects in Elmore County have reached energization and 91 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Elmore County, ID?

2.5 GW is currently requested across 10 active interconnection requests, and 1.1 GW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Elmore County, ID a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Idaho policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Elmore County — IP — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Elmore County

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Elmore County on the map County reports All of Idaho