Data centers and new power in Humbolt, NV

3.0 GW of new power is waiting to connect to the grid in Humbolt, NV — 12 active requests. Typical wait: 2.1 years. 0 projects are built, 16 withdrawn. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Live here?

Is one near your house?

We have not mapped a large AI data center inside Humbolt itself — but we track the biggest ones nationally, and requests to connect new power here are on the public record.

Free. Your address is used for one distance and is not stored.

The power picture

What is happening with electricity in Humbolt

Every new power plant, battery or big customer has to join a waiting list before it can plug into the grid. This is what that list looks like in Humbolt right now.

3.0 GW
of new power is waiting to connect
12 projects asked. Not yet approved. Roughly what 2.4 million homes use.
0 MW
has actually been built
0 projects switched on so far.
2.1 yrs
typical wait to plug in

Where every request ever filed here ended up

  • Still waiting 40%
  • Withdrawn 53%
  • Paused 7%

Most requests in the US are withdrawn — a developer tests a site and moves on. That is normal, not a warning sign for Humbolt.

What kind of power is asking to connect

  • Solar 51%
  • Geothermal 35%
  • Natural gas 15%

By capacity requested. Data as of 14 October 2026.

All the numbers

30 requests ever filed
Pending applications
12
of 30 ever filed
Capacity queued
3.0 GW
requested, not committed
Already built
0 MW
0 projects connected
Built vs decided
0.0%
16 withdrawn
Median wait
2.1 yr
for applications still pending
Connected capacity
738 MW
indicator, see note

Source: interconnection queues published by NVE. Parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Data as of 14 October 2026. A queued project is a request, not a commitment.

Outcome of every request filed here

OutcomeProjectsCapacityShare
Built00 MW0.0%
Still waiting123.0 GW40.0%
Withdrawn163.8 GW53.3%
Paused2—6.7%

Waiting to connect, by type of power

TypeProjectsCapacity requested
Solar51.5 GW
Geothermal51.0 GW
Natural gas2437 MW

Key dates for projects here

no dated windows published
QueueWhat closesClosesStanding
FERCFERC large-load show cause — stakeholder comments on RTO responses
Comments on the six RTO/ISO responses to the FPA section 206 show-cause orders of 18 June 2026 (PJM EL26-67, SPP EL26-68, NYISO EL26-69, MISO EL26-70…
No date published yetunconfirmed source
FERCFERC RM26-4 — generic large-load rulemaking
Still at ANOPR stage.
No date published yetconfirmed source
FERCGeorgia PSC - Georgia Power must file large-load contracts 30 days before execution
A standing obligation rather than a dated one: large-load contracts must be filed with the commission at least 30 days before they are executed.
No date published yetconfirmed source

A date marked confirmed was checked by a person against the authority's own tariff, order or form page. Anything else is listed so you know it exists, with a link so you can check it yourself. Full calendar.

The biggest projects on file

top 15 by size
ProjectTypeCapacityStatusFiledQueue
25-00412Geothermal600 MWactive2025-07NVE
25-00416Solar600 MWactive2025-07NVE
Company NVSolar600 MWsuspended2022-09NVE
Company MFSolar500 MWwithdrawn2021-09NVE
Company PISolar500 MWwithdrawn2022-03NVE
Company PJBatteries500 MWwithdrawn2022-03NVE
Company JLSolar400 MWwithdrawn2018-09NVE
Company PUSolar400 MWwithdrawn2023-03NVE
Company IFSolar350 MWactive2018-03NVE
Company OASolar350 MWsuspended2022-09NVE
Company JMSolar300 MWwithdrawn2018-09NVE
Company JCSolar250 MWwithdrawn2018-09NVE
Company KNSolar250 MWactive2020-08NVE
Company QFNatural gas218 MWactive2023-09NVE
Company QGNatural gas218 MWactive2023-09NVE

Big new power users asking to connect

2 on record

Requests to connect large new customers — data centers, factories, electrification — rather than power plants.

RequestCapacityStatusQueueStated use
Lithium Nevada143 MWenergizedBPAnot stated
Denio Junction 139 MW139 MWactiveBPAnot stated

Most of these filings do not say what the power is for. “Not stated” is the filing's silence, not ours.

How Humbolt compares

#113 in the US · #4 in NV

Humbolt ranks #113 of 1,607 US counties by power waiting to connect, and #4 of 15 in Nevada.

CountyWaitingCapacity queued
Clark County5715.5 GW
Nye County134.9 GW
Churchill County154.1 GW
Story73.0 GW
Lyon County112.9 GW
Washoe County122.9 GW
Esmerelda92.7 GW
White Pine County51.8 GW

Common questions about power in Humbolt

How long does it take to get power for a data center in Humbolt, NV?

The median wait for a project still in the interconnection queue in Humbolt is 2.1 years. Across the US, most large loads are quoted three to seven years depending on the market and whether network upgrades are needed. 0 projects in Humbolt have reached energization and 16 were withdrawn, so the withdrawal rate here is a better guide to risk than any single quoted timeline.

How much capacity is available in Humbolt, NV?

3.0 GW is currently requested across 12 active interconnection requests, and 0 MW has actually been built. A queued megawatt is a request, not deliverable capacity — most queued projects are never built. For deliverable offtake capacity at a specific substation you need a utility study, not a queue.

Is Humbolt, NV a good site for a data center?

This page gives you the power half of that answer: what is queued, what has been energized, how long the wait runs, and which large load interconnection requests are already recorded nearby. The other half — the state policy position, moratoriums and large load tariffs — is on our Nevada policy page.

Where does the data on this page come from?

The interconnection queue published by the transmission providers serving Humbolt — NVE — parsed and normalised by Watt Street. Every figure carries the date it was true. Data as of 14 October 2026.

Go deeper on Humbolt

The interactive map plots every one of these applications, and a generated county report puts them in a sourced PDF with the date each figure was true on every page.

Open Humbolt on the map County reports All of Nevada